Banner Bottom Image




Hey Kids!

Of course we have books, but did you know we also have...

  • The Computer Station
  • The AWE Learning Computer
  • Discovery Laptops
  • Leapsters
  • The Shriners' Train
  • Fun Bins
  • Lego Table and Boards
  • The Train Fun Wall
  • Take-Home Fun Sheets
  • Plus keep your eye on the calendar for our special events for kids!


We also invite you to enjoy some of our favorite websites!
Great Websites for KidsCliffordBarbieMagic School BusDisney JuniorSeussvilleSid the Science KidPBS KidsArthurNational Geographic KidsMy Friend Maisy






A look at some of our newest materials for kids...


Previous
Next


I Yam a Donkey!, by Cece Bell
   
Even frustrated grammarians will giggle at the who’s-on-first routine that begins with a donkey’s excited announcement, “I yam a donkey!” Unfortunately the donkey’s audience happens to be a yam, and one who is particular about sloppy pronunciation and poor grammar. An escalating series of misunderstandings leaves the yam furious and the clueless donkey bewildered by the yam’s growing (and amusing) frustration. The yam finally gets his point across, but regrettably, he’s made the situation a little bit too clear . . . and the story ends with a dark and outrageously funny twist.



Stick Dog Tries to Take the Donuts, by Tom Watson
   

The Stick Dog series continues in Tom Watson's hilarious Stick Dog Tries to Take the Donuts!

Stick Dog and his team of strays are off on another outrageous canine caper. To snatch some breakfast treats for his hungry pals, Stick Dog will need to stop a moving truck, outfox a man on a telephone pole, and calm down a very caffeinated Karen. But that's not all. He'll also need to manage the greatest confrontation in history when his good friend Poo-Poo comes face-to-face with the ultimate enemy—a squirrel.

With Stick Dog's smarts, daring, loyalty—and patience—he just might lead his buddies to the best breakfast ever. Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books.

It's morning. The dogs are hungry. It's time to take the donuts!





Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti, by Tom Watson
      

It’s slippery. It’s slurpable. It’s spaghetti!

Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books, Tom Watson’s hilarious Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti is not to be missed.

Stick Dog and his gang of hungry hounds want to play tug-of-war. Their search for rope leads to something even better—spaghetti!  Once they get a taste, they must get some more.

It will be their most difficult mission ever—and will demand all of Stick Dog’s problem-solving skills. They’ll need to scale the tallest mountain in the suburbs and sneak into a restaurant filled with people.

Dangerous humans—a strange-talking girl, a huge chef, and a penguin-man—lurk around every corner.  But there’s more than danger in the air. Stick Dog has caught the scent of something even more scrumptious than spaghetti. And he’ll risk everything to find out what it is.





Stick Dog Craves Candy , by Tom Watson
   

Stick Dog and the gang are on their usual hunt for food, but there is something unusual going on. Little humans are dressed up as creepy witches and spooky ghosts, all carrying big orange buckets!

Their search leads them to something unexpected and delicious and sweet—candy! Once they get a taste, they will stop at nothing to get more. The gang will have to avoid terrifying witches and even escape a creepy haunted house! Will Stick Dog's smarts, courage, and patience be enough to lead his buddies to the best treats ever?

Witches, and ghosts, and goblins...and Stick Dog and friends! Oh my!





Stick Dog Crashes a Party , by Tom Watson
      

Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books, Tom Watson’s hilarious series continues with Stick Dog Crashes a Party—a festive adventure complete with cake, ribs, fireworks, and very special guests!

IT’S TIME TO PARTY—STICK DOG STYLE!

Stick Dog and his hungry pals have found plenty of tasty treats at Picasso Park before. But it’s never looked like it does on this dark, dark night. Strings of white lights, colorful fireworks, and an endless buffet of amazing food have transformed the park into a food-snatching wonderland.

There’s a party going on, and Stick Dog, Mutt, Poo-Poo, Stripes, and Karen are ready to crash it. But how will they do it?

It will take a top-notch strategy, some good luck, and a little help from two charming cats to complete their mission. It’s another smart, hilarious romp for Stick Dog and his team of strays.




Dead Voices , by Katherine Arden
      
New York Times bestselling author Katherine Arden returns with another creepy, spine-tingling adventure in this follow-up to the critically acclaimed Small Spaces.

Having survived sinister scarecrows and the malevolent smiling man in Small Spaces, newly minted best friends Ollie, Coco, and Brian are ready to spend a relaxing winter break skiing together with their parents at Mount Hemlock Resort. But when a snowstorm sets in, causing the power to flicker out and the cold to creep closer and closer, the three are forced to settle for hot chocolate and board games by the fire.

Ollie, Coco, and Brian are determined to make the best of being snowed in, but odd things keep happening. Coco is convinced she has seen a ghost, and Ollie is having nightmares about frostbitten girls pleading for help. Then Mr. Voland, a mysterious ghost hunter, arrives in the midst of the storm to investigate the hauntings at Hemlock Lodge. Ollie, Coco, and Brian want to trust him, but Ollie's watch, which once saved them from the smiling man, has a new cautionary message: BEWARE.

With Mr. Voland's help, Ollie, Coco, and Brian reach out to the dead voices at Mount Hemlock. Maybe the ghosts need their help--or maybe not all ghosts can or should be trusted.

Dead Voices is a terrifying follow-up to Small Spaces with thrills and chills galore and the captive foreboding of a classic ghost story.




You Loves Ewe , by Cece Bell
      
A side-splittingly funny picture book about a silly donkey, a cranky yam, and an irresistible ewe, packed with hilarious homonyms and the distinctive humor of Newbery Honoree Cece Bell. For fans of P is for Pterodactyl. 

Hilarity meets homonyms in this high-comedy companion to I Yam a Donkey by Cece Bell. A persnickety spud, Yam, introduces the grammar-challenged Donkey to a new friend, Ewe, a lady sheep. The confusion between “ewe” and “you” results in a fabulously funny series of who’s-on-first misunderstandings, even though Yam explains the concept of homonyms to Donkey clearly enough for the youngest of readers to understand. Heightening the humor is an over-the-top love triangle, because everyone is in love with You. Err, Ewe. Perfect for Valentine’s Day or any day!




Hike , by Pete Oswald
      

Take to the trails for a celebration of nature — and a day spent with dad.

In the cool and quiet early light of morning, a father and child wake up. Today they’re going on a hike. Follow the duo into the mountains as they witness the magic of the wilderness, overcome challenges, and play a small role in the survival of the forest. By the time they return home, they feel alive — and closer than ever — as they document their hike and take their place in family history. In detail-rich panels and textured panoramas, Pete Oswald perfectly paces this nearly wordless adventure, allowing readers to pause for subtle wonders and marvel at the views. A touching tribute to the bond between father and child, with resonant themes for Earth Day, Hike is a breath of fresh air.




Previous
Next