Banner Bottom Image




Hey Kids!

Of course we have books, but did you know we also have...

  • The Computer Station
  • The AWE Learning Computer
  • Discovery Laptops
  • Leapsters
  • The Shriners' Train
  • Fun Bins
  • Lego Table and Boards
  • The Train Fun Wall
  • Take-Home Fun Sheets
  • Plus keep your eye on the calendar for our special events for kids!


We also invite you to enjoy some of our favorite websites!
Great Websites for KidsCliffordBarbieMagic School BusDisney JuniorSeussvilleSid the Science KidPBS KidsArthurNational Geographic KidsMy Friend Maisy






A look at some of our newest materials for kids...


Previous
Next


The Journey, by Francesca Sanna
   

With haunting echoes of the current refugee crisis this beautifully illustrated book explores the unimaginable decisions made as a family leave their home and everything they know to escape the turmoil and tragedy brought by war. This book will stay with you long after the last page is turned.


From the author: The Journey is actually a story about many journeys, and it began with the story of two girls I met in a refugee center in Italy. After meeting them I realized that behind their journey lay something very powerful. So I began collecting more stories of migration and interviewing many people from many different countries. A few months later, in September 2014, when I started studying a Master of Arts in Illustration at the Academy of Lucerne, I knew I wanted to create a book about these true stories. Almost every day on the news we hear the terms "migrants" and "refugees" but we rarely ever speak to or hear the personal journeys that they have had to take. This book is a collage of all those personal stories and the incredible strength of the people within them.

Francesca Sanna is an Italian illustrator and graphic designer who moved to Switzerland to follow her dream to work as an illustrator. She graduated in 2015 from the Lucerne School of Art and Design with a Master of Design with focus on Illustration. The Journey is her first picture book.






Big Cat, Little Cat , by Elisha Cooper
      

There was a cat 
who lived alone.
Until the day
a new cat came . . .

And so a story of friendship begins, following two cats through their days, months, and years until one day, the older cat has to go. And he doesn’t come back.

This is a poignant story, told in measured text and bold black-and-white illustrations about life and the act of moving on.





Accident!, by Andrea Tsurumi
      
When a clumsy armadillo named Lola knocks over a glass pitcher, she sets off a silly chain of events, encountering chaos wherever she goes. But accidents happen—just ask the stoat snarled in spaghetti, the airborne sheep, and the bull who has broken a whole shop’s worth of china. In the tradition of beloved books like The Dot and Beautiful Oops, this charming, hilarious debut from author-illustrator Andrea Tsurumi shows that mistakes don’t have to be the end of the world.




I Want That Nut!, by Madeline Valentine
      
A nutty and clever buddy story that celebrates cooperation, perfect for fans of Duck and Goose.
 
Meet Mouse and Chipmunk, two young rodents who want the same thing—a big, beautiful nut! But who deserves it more? After all, Chipmunk and the Nut read together and lie in the grass and stare at the clouds. Chipmunk wants that nut! And Mouse and the Nut play tic-tac-toe and have a dance party together. Mouse also wants that nut!
 
But then Squirrel comes along and claims the Nut for his own. What’s a rodent to do?




Diary of a Wimpy Kid #12: Getaway, by Jeff Kinney
   
Greg Heffley and his family are getting out of town.

With the cold weather and the stress of the approaching holiday season, the Heffleys decide to escape to a tropical island resort for some much-needed rest and relaxation. A few days in paradise should do wonders for Greg and his frazzled family.

But the Heffleys soon discover that paradise isn't everything it's cracked up to be. Sun poisoning, stomach troubles, and venomous critters all threaten to ruin the family's vacation. Can their trip be saved, or will this island getaway end in disaster?




Dog Man and Cat Kid, by Dav Pilkey
      
Hot diggity dog! Dog Man, the newest hero from Dav Pilkey, the creator of Captain Underpants, is back -- and this time he's not alone. The heroic hound with a real nose for justice now has a furry feline sidekick, and together they have a mystery to sniff out! When a new kitty sitter arrives and a glamorous movie starlet goes missing, it's up to Dog Man and Cat Kid to save the day! 
 
Will these heroes stay hot on the trail, or will Petey, the World's Most Evil Cat, send them barking up the wrong tree?



Previous
Next